The Girl Scout Cookie Conundrum

 

3-24.jpg

By: Victoria Millen, SU 187, Troop 644 & Tejas Rider

              Girl Scout Cookies – worldwide phenomenon – wildly anticipated throughout the year, and finally sold as soon as you make your New Year’s resolution to lose weight.  Being an 11-year Girl Scout, you would think that I had my cookie-selling skills down, that you would find no flaws in my cookie game; this would not be the case.

                My cookie-selling abilities have been built on a throne of chance.  First as a cute,  little girl with the innate trait to sell cookies faster because of said cuteness.  (I didn’t utilize that skill as much as I could have.)   There were the years that I sold 100 boxes, only to have those pesky few remain undelivered due to lack of will and/or the transportation to get them delivered.  Then there was the year I look upon most fondly, the year we forgot about cookie sales entirely.   We raced to the phone the night before sales closed and hounded every relative in our contact list, no matter how distant, in order to get the required minimum of 30 boxes sold. 

                These chance cookie moments did not have me prepared for selling vast amounts of cookies, but they certainly gave me the desire to.  My freshman year, my first year as a Tejas Rider, I took a duffel bag around the high school to sell cookies.  And due to my dedication,  I became a High Point seller that year.  I sold 350 boxes of Girl Scout cookies AND I delivered all of them.

                My appetite for cookie-selling grew when the switch to having cookies ahead of time rolled around.  I picked up my cookies from Camp Bette Perot and was ready to go.  The next day I went to school and placed order forms in all of my classes to see who wanted which cookies.  When I came home, I was staggered by the sheer amount of cookies I would have to take to school the next day.  There were so many that there was no way they would all fit in a duffle bag.   

                After consulting with my troop leader/mother, we found a cart.  Not a full-blown shopping cart, but a cart in the same category.  The bottom is rectangular, with HIGH sides and, most importantly, the ability to fit 6 cases of cookies in the cart at the same  time.  That cookie-selling year went very well.  At Tejas Riders I was rewarded for being the High Point  seller.   Out of 100 girls, I had sold the most cookies;  1,000 boxes to be precise. 

                The cart had worked so well  that year that I decided to repeat the process my junior and senior years.  But instead of taking orders, I would sell cookies to whomever had cash in their pockets.  My junior year I was yet again a High Point seller.  While not the #1 seller, I sold a modest total of 650 boxes.  But for my senior year, I wanted to shatter the record of my sophomore year.   I wanted to win again.

                I strategized about what cookies to get and how many, starting off with 603 cookies to sell, and hoping to order more if those ran out.  I streamlined the cookie process, putting a sign on my cart that read “Now Selling,” with pictures of each cookie underneath.  These cookie pictures  are also on Velcro, so if I run out of that cookie for the day, I can peel the picture off and no one will ask to buy them.  This procedure enables me to get in the optimum number of sales between classes, but also never being late.   However, all of this preparation did not prepare me for disaster. 

                I love Trefoils, they are by far my favorite Girl Scout cookie.  Very few people have the same taste in cookies as I do.   I recently purchased a box of Trefoils for myself, ate a few and then returned the box to the cart.  I thought nothing of it.  It was something I have done time and time again.  I went home after school, put some new cookies in the cart and was ready to repeat the whole process the following day. 

                The next day came, and with it lunchtime rolled around, the best time to sell cookies.  Hundreds of captive high school students with cash in their pockets, hunger in their eyes, and me there to satiate their hunger.  That day the students were particularly ravenous, taking cookies out of the cart before I could hand the cookies to them.  And while they always paid for the box, it was a recipe for disaster.

                 I quickly sold out of Samoas, and had done a reasonable trade in all other cookies.   I was down to one box of Trefoils, my box.   When I got to my next class and removed the empty cases from my cart to rearrange the boxes, I realized that the last remaining box of Trefoils was sealed.  I HAD SOLD MY BOX OF TREFOILS –  an opened box of Girl Scout Cookies. 

                I quickly went into panic mode.  After getting permission from my teacher,  I  raced back to the scene of the last Trefoil sale, only to find that their box had been sealed.  For the rest of the day I hunted for those Trefoil  buyers, but each purchaser  I found claimed that their box had been sealed.  Dejected, I came up with a plan –  if the cheated Trefoil buyer ever came forward, I would reimburse them  (after all, they had paid for a full box) and reward them with a new, SEALED box of Trefoils;  a box that I would personally pay for.   

                Surprisingly, no one has come forward to cry foul.  Thus, I have assumed one of two theories might  have occurred.   The first is that after purchasing the cookies during lunch, the cookies were left on a  table by the buyer, for whatever reason, only to come back to an opened box.  And even after they questioned friends, who claimed rightful innocence, the buyer  believed their friends were the ones responsible for the open pack and missing cookies. 

                The second and final scenario is that the cookies were purchased for a parent.  And when the unfortunate child  gave the cookies to their parent upon arriving home, the parent was presented with an opened box of cookies.  And even though the student would claim rightful innocence, they would not be believed after having  been tried, and found guilty in the court of parental law.

                So, Cheated Trefoil Buyer, if you are reading this, know that my offer stands.  Please, please come forward to claim your unopened box of Trefoils. Only then will I be able to put this unfortunate experience behind me.

Does your Girl Scout have an experience to share? Send it in to media@gsnetx.org!

One thought on “The Girl Scout Cookie Conundrum

  1. LOVED reading this! What a dedicated Girl Scout who embodies the Honest and Fair trait! Thank you for sharing your story and also letting girls know it’s never too late!

Leave a Reply

