Bailey Goes for Gold

Bailey’s goal for her Girl Scout Gold Award project was simple: “get kids excited about science at a young age.”

Bailey, a proud Girl Scout since the second grade, organized more than 50 volunteers to help her host a free science camp for first through fifth grade students. 

“I chose this project for my Gold Award because I like science and I want children to enjoy science as much as I do,” noted Bailey. “My fantastic science teachers at Guyer High School really sparked a love and interest in science and I was hoping to do the same for the kids.”

The day camp welcomed more than 100 elementary students, and included a full day of science education and interactive experiments.

“I think my leadership skills really improved because I had to organize such a big group of volunteers and keep things moving smoothly during the event. I loved how the volunteers seemed to enjoy the day as much as the kids.”

Bailey will graduate this May and is planning on studying biology and veterinarian medicine in college. 

For more information about the Girl Scout Gold Award, visit www.gsnetx.org

photo 5

Bailey, proud Girl Scout since 2nd grade

DSC_0045 DSC_0050 DSC_0073 DSC_0075 DSC_0077 DSC_0082 DSC_0104 DSC_0109 DSC_0113 DSC_0115 DSC_0123 DSC_0135 IMG_2241 photo 1 photo 2 photo 3 photo 4  science science_1 Wendy and Bailey

One thought on “Bailey Goes for Gold

Leave a Reply

