Reunited Camp Friends

By Rayanne Kruse 

This summer has been incredible! All of the camps that I visited this summer were so full of life and activity. I have never seen so much diversity and choices within one council for Outdoor Leadership! I wish that when I was younger I had these amazing opportunities.

IMG_1844 Bella and Dani IMG_9063DSC00603IMG_1612  IMG_9098

Earlier this year, we came across an amazing camp reunion story and I thought that it would be an awesome way to wrap up the summer!

At the Gamma Sigma Challenge event last spring Beth and her daughter Holly met Susan and her daughter Christina. The girls were both there without a troop that day so they decided to go through the activities with one another.

edited Beth and Holly

Beth & Holly

Susan & Christina_going in to 8th grade

Susan & Christina

As Holly and Christina made their way around to each activity, Beth and Susan began to talk about their own experiences with Girl Scouts. Both women were Girl Scouts in elementary school and beyond, and they soon realized that they actually had met each other before! Beth and Susan had been in the same troop, led by Beth’s mom, for many years. In fact, they were summer camp buddies at Camp Bette Perot and were a part of the last group to receive the First Class Award, the predecessor to the Gold Award, the highest award in Girl Scouts at the time.

Beth & Susan at Camp Bette Perot 1979

Beth & Susan at Camp Bette Perot 1979

The beloved Girl Scout friendship came to an end when Susan left the troop and her family moved away from the area. After years of no contact, the two serendipitously ran into one another at the Gamma Sigma Challenge and now Susan’s daughter, Christina, will be joining Beth’s troop in the fall.

“I absolutely loved my time in Girl Scouts and at Camp Bette Perot… I was excited to have my daughter share some of those experiences. “  -Susan

christina at camp

Christina at Camp

Whispering Cedars Christina

Christina at Camp Whispering Cedars

“I hope for Holly to experience the wonderful things that only Girl Scouts can provide.” – Beth

My beautiful picture

Holly at Camp Bette Perot

TI with girls_6

Holly at College Journey Cadette Week

Both Susan and Beth both stressed to me the important role that Girl Scouts had played in their lives and the opportunities that it has afforded them. Both want their daughters to have the same opportunities to travel, grow as leaders, attend camp, and make lifelong friends.

This summer has been amazing and I am touched by all of the great stories that I have heard about our camps here in Northeast Texas. One of my favorite parts of Girl Scout camp was the campfires that we had at the end of the week. All of the counselors let us linger to sing songs, laugh, and eat s’mores. At the very end of the night when the fire was out and so were the stars, we sung the traditional closing song Taps. I see it only fitting to end this summer camp blog with the same sentiment. Thank you all for sharing your camp excursions with me! 

 

Day is done, gone the sun,

From the lake, from the hills, from the sky;

All is well, safely rest, God is nigh.

 

Fading light, dims the sight,

And a star gems the sky, gleaming bright.

From afar, drawing nigh, falls the night.

 

Thanks and praise, for our days,

‘Neath the sun, ‘neath the stars, neath the sky;

As we go, this we know, God is nigh.

One thought on “Reunited Camp Friends

  1. Rayanne – Thank you for your posts this summer. I’ve enjoyed seeing pictures and stories of camp. It helped me feel a little closer to my old home. Have a great year.

Leave a Reply

