“Being a leader isn’t just about what you accomplish, it’s about how you get there”

Thank you Marti G. for all your hard work! 

What do you enjoy most about being a Girl Scout volunteer?

 “I love interacting with the girls.  I enjoy watching their eyes light up when they see me outside of troop meetings, the hugs, and watching them grow into young ladies.  I have girls that are no longer involved in GS that continue to keep in touch and let me know how they are doing on their life journey. It is just amazing to watch them grow together as a troop, as individuals and develop skills for their future.”

What made you decide to become a Girl Scout volunteer?

“I was involved in Girl Scouts years ago but moved so much, I didn’t continue my journey.  When my daughter said she wanted to join, I was so excited.  After her 2nd year, the leader decided to move on and my daughter was so disappointed.  We talked about her GS experience and she let me know she wanted to go through high school and be a lifetime GS.  That was enough for me and I took over leading the troop.  From there, I was asked to become a trainer for the area since we were growing so much and eventually took on the role of Training HUB for the area.”

What do you hope others can learn from your leadership?

“First I want people to learn that you can have fun, be silly, and still get the job done.  Being a leader isn’t just about what you accomplish, it’s about how you get there.”

IMG_0346 Me

Leave a Reply

